Why I No Longer Use Twitter To Promote My Services

As you are probably well aware, Twitter has recently been bought by none other than Elon Musk himself. I don’t know about you, but I am only noticing negative sides of this acquisition. I will try to explain why within following paragraphs.

Firstly, I am not talking about the blue stars here, either. It goes deeper. Twitter feels less professional as a whole, since Elon bought it. There had been many lay-offs, many people leaving the company at their own will because of bad management, and so on, and so forth. At this point, Twitter just feels like it’s hanging in the air about to drop itself into a volcano and be forgotten.

Needless to say, I use it less ever since the owner of Twitter changed. But I didn’t think of abandoning it completely until a few days ago, when I tried to follow someone and was told I can’t. No explanation followed. Nothing. A simple: “You can’t follow anyone at this point.” That’s not a nice way to treat an account that was registered back in 2008, has a good standing and a decent follower base (I am not a celebrity, so no million followers lost, thankfully). That is my second reason.

If I’d given an opportunity to address Elon Musk directly, here’s what I would most likely say to him:

Mr. Musk, sir, You are free to run your company however you see fit, but you really need to learn to socialize. What I mean by that is - making spaceships and cars is one thing. Dealing with a large social platform, where people interact and express their opinions (freedom of speech is still a thing, you know) - is quite another. Stop treating Twitter like a new toy of yours! If you play with it rough, it will break. Of course, I might be a nobody compared to you, but believe me, sir, I express many people’s opinion. At this point, I regret I ever bought a biography book about you a couple of years ago…

Above is what has been boiling up inside me for quite some time now. Twitter is only a part of what bothers me, as far as Elon’s recent actions are concerned. Perhaps one day I will tell you, dear reader, the whole story. There are no hyperlinks in this article. I am not trying to use a hot topic to get more visitors, but merely expressing my feelings.

Thank you very much for your time and attention. Be safe out there!

Update: As of April 9th, 2023, I no longer use Instagram (ValPaliy) or Twitter (ValPaliy).