Queen's Gambit (The Series)

I’ve watched “The Queen’s Gambit” on Netflix, and I must admit - I love the show! And I am not alone, of course. According to this article in “Business Insider”, and I quote:

Netflix said last week that “The Queen’s Gambit” was its biggest limited series yet and was watched by 62 million households worldwide in its first 28 days (a view is counted if an account watches two minutes or more).

The article goes on to say that “new data suggests it got there by steadily growing into a word-of-mouth hit after debuting on October 23.” The quoted article dates back to the end of last year.

All of this is little to no surprise, really, as the show is a wonderful adaptation of a novel by Walter Tavis (which I am currently reading; my review of the book will come shortly after I finish the book).

The show’s huge success is also due to the amazing acting of Anya Taylor-Joy, an actress I immediately believed on the screen. Anya’s portrayal of Beth Harmon is, in mind humble opinion, outstanding.

“The Queen’s Gambit” got me back into playing chess, by the way, which is something I haven’t done in a long time, tho I’ve learnt the basis of chess during my childhood from my grandma.

So all-in-all I am hipped at the moment. But please don’t take my word for how good the show is, watch a trailer and the series, if you haven’t already.

One thing I’ve noticed is people searching for season 2. Being based on a book I doubt the show will have a sequel. That’s also why it is called a limited series.

Thank you very much for reading this. Play chess and stay safe!